NaNoWriMo 2012…

… is underway, finally… at the last possible moment (okay, it was past the starting point when things finally went this far) a set of dice and a coin toss decided what I was going to do.  I kid you not.  My November project was decided by dice and a coin toss.

When did my life turn into a situation comedy without my permission??

So I’m doing fanfiction this year, which I have never done for NaNoWriMo before.  It’s allowed within the rules and guidelines, I’ve just never been one to do my fanfic for the November project.  Go figure.

In any event, the characters are fighting me, the story is fighting me, I’m about ready to tear my hair out and start the hell over and it’s only day 5!!!  I’m sooooo far behind on word count that it’s unbelievable and I’m going nuts. This is, astonishingly enough, par for the course for NaNoWriMo, which is why I describe it as complete insanity.

So I was talking with my husband about this mess (yes, the Mrs in the MrsGrizzley is honestly earned) and he made a suggestion.  “The Family Meal”.  Basically, put a bunch of characters together around a table, it works better if there are kids and/or animals in the mix, and just let them be themselves.  It’s an interesting idea.  Granted, the story isn’t at a place where this can happen, one character is setting off on a journey to deliver an Egg to another character who’s going to be absolutely exhausted when she gets there… but this is where NaNo Brilliance applies.

Because the only thing that matters is Word Count… I can take this Meta!

So the characters can end up at a table with my characters from other stories and even with the author herself and can quite openly discuss story and/or plot developments amidst the insanity of creatures and small children everywhere!  Dear gak, I love Meta some days!  Maybe some day I’ll do a NaNo project that is JUST the meta-story insanity of what goes on in the back rooms of my brain, also called the “Memory Warehouse and Boarding Facility”… ooooh… why is it the best ideas always show up LATE!!???

Be back later, I have writing to do!!!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2012…

  1. I sincerely applaud you for even taking up the NaNoWriMo challenge. Seriously. I’m stuck with lack of confidence in my time management abilities as well as my writing abilities, so I never bothered to ponder a possible plot or character for the challenge. I do want to take up the challenge sometime, though; maybe next year. Good luck with your writing! Fanfiction’s difficult to do!

    • It’s not too late to join in the insanity *this* year. Please, it’s only Day Five! There’s nothing to stop you from joining in the madness!! I’m MrsGrizzley there, I love getting new Writing Buddies, if you need the moral/emotional support I’m here for another writer. I’m serious. Plot matters less than the challenge and meeting Word Count!

      But even if you put it off till next year, I’ll be participating again then, too, so feel free to simply let yourself go and write. That’s the one thing most writers forget to do. Just Write!

      Jump on in! the water’s fine once the initial freeze wears off!! *chuckle*

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

