The Hazards of Ferret Syndrome and Hyperfocus

Okay, so I haven’t been updating like I would like to be.  I’ve got several chapters prepared, they just need slight editing and I really need to go back through the other ones and edit in some details, but I’m afraid that I have fallen victim to my own nature.

I can hyperfocus on things.  Sometimes it shows when I’m reading something and the rest of the world just vanishes.  World War Three could be raging around me and I don’t even hear it.  It’s a useful trait sometimes because it allows me to lock in on something and ordinarily I have issues with focusing.

That’s because I also have Ferret Syndrome.  Distractions abound in the world and the least little shiny thing can pull me away from what I need to be doing.  Like, say, working on getting my stories written.  I’ve had them living in my brain for the better part of my life in some cases, and I really want to share them with the world.  That’s difficult when I get so easily distracted.

The worst possible situation, though, is when I somehow manage to hyperfocus on a distraction.

Which, sadly, is what has taken place.  The Mysterious Co-Writer finally managed to pester me into trying a Pokemon game (yeah, me, grown woman playing Pokemon… I swear the world is coming to an end) and Pokemon Black now owns my soul.  There will likely be fanfiction written and I can almost guarantee that the concept of domesticating monsters for self-defense and some of the moral and ethical questions relating to it will show up in original fiction.  I’ve already got the beginnings of a plot in mind for the Steampunk era of the world of Kien-Altair.  I just need to let it simmer until it doesn’t look so much like the source influence.

Any fanfiction will likely be posted to my Fanfiction.net account of MrsGrizzley.  Original Fiction will take much longer to develop.  And, sadly, new chapters for Castellan Dreams will be slower than I like.  Chapter Six is up, by the way, in case anyone is interested.  I appreciate your patience.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “The Hazards of Ferret Syndrome and Hyperfocus

  1. Good info and right to the point. I am not sure if this is actually the best place to ask but do you people have any thoughts on where to get some professional writers? Thanks in advance 🙂

    • To be honest, I’m not sure about where to find “professional writers”. I always thought the term related to those writers who were lucky enough to get paid for doing what they enjoy doing so much. It really depends on what sort of content and subject matter you’re looking for from a writer. I’d probably go looking in areas where that particular type of writing is frequently found and then start asking around if anyone’s interested. Myself, I’m still amateur status. Quality is not necessarily related to whether a person gets paid to do what they do or not, just whether they’ve got money coming in from it.

  2. That’s a total ADHD thing. All of it. I feel you.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

